Trying Something New [SS Opinions #5]

It’s a new year today.  This means, of course, that most people are resolving to do something new or better to better themselves and those around them.  But as we all know, most people fall off the wagon before the end of January.  But I have made a pledge that I will try my hardest to stick to, and that is to try new games.

When I say new games, I don’t really mean “I played New Super Mario Bros., so I should play New Super Mario Bros. 2!” (They are great games, but I’m getting off topic here.)  What I mean is that I want to try out brand new franchises and genres that I’ve never really explored.  I enjoy a good Pokémon romp in my spare time, so instead, I was thinking to try out Fire Emblem Awakening for a change of pace.  That kind of “new game.”

One big thing I plan to do is sit down and finally get around to The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess.  That game has been haunting me for years, sitting on my shelf, barely started.  My friends have been pushing me more and more recently to try Zelda games again, so I decided to just go with it.  I know that the games are great, it just boggles my mind that small children were able to figure out how to beat Ocarina of Time. I mean, explain how they completed the Water Temple without a strategy guide.

Anyways, there’s my cliche New Year’s Resolution. I’d love to hear what other people’s resolutions are though in the comments! Thanks for reading, and have a Happy New Year!

-SS

Leave a Reply

