I Choose Chao! [Retro Revival #2]

Okay, so I am a huge Sonic fan. I’ve been playing Sonic games ever since I was a little kid. I grew up on Sonic Adventure 2: Battle, and played it so much now where I’ve almost 100%ed the game entirely. I love SA2B, and despite the criticism it receives for the treasure-hunting and shooting stages,it is still one of my favorite games of all time. But there’s one mode in it I wish they would bring back (and I’m still hoping they will), and that is the Chao Gardens.

Sure, it may have just been an A-life simulator, but every friend I’ve talked to has told me that they loved the Chao gardens, and would spend so much time and effort on them. And I know that Sega hasn’t made any sort of Chao feature or game since SA2B because they thought it didn’t have enough of a following, but that’s just not true. Developing a Chao Garden game or application for 3DS or Wii U would be a brilliant idea on Sega’s part, because it would definitely set a lot of copies, and with today’s technological advancements, players could visit their friends’ gardens and race against opponents from all over the world. The original Chao gardens didn’t even have this feature, yet I remember days where my friends would all come to my house and want to play with their Chao. The Chao garden was built for connectivity, creating, and sharing, so it would thrive on the current Nintendo consoles.

Plus, Sega has realized that Sonic games have started to get less and less popular as time goes on, so if they released the Chao garden as a part of a new Sonic game, it could help boost sales and get the hedgehog more popular again. Furthermore, now that Sega and Nintendo are partnering up nowadays, they could include Nintendo-themed decorations for the gardens and the Chaos themselves. After all, they already made Yoshi’s Island and The Legend of Zelda DLC stages for Sonic Lost World. So Sega, I think most people would agree with me when I say “Give us another game with Chaos in it!”

-SS

1 thought on “I Choose Chao! [Retro Revival #2]

  1. So I didn’t really understand the stuff about the Chaos Garden game but in all honesty I really liked the post. While reading this, I could feel your enthusiasm for this game and all cheesiness aside, it was a nice feeling.

Leave a comment